Pin It

How to delete files permanently

You can delete a file either by pressing DELETE button and then empty the recycle bin some other day or you may do SHIFT+DELETE to delete it permanently but to your surprise its not permanently deleted .Here is why



"When you delete files or folders, the data is not initially removed from the hard disk. Instead, the space on the disk that was occupied by the deleted data is "deallocated." After it is deallocated, the space is available for use when new data is written to the disk. Until the space is overwritten, it is possible to recover the deleted data by using a low-level disk editor or data-recovery software."

Before the file is overwritten, anyone can easily retrieve it with a disk maintenance or an undelete utility.

  Read more:   How to undelete and recover your deleted files

To permanently erase files and prevent your confidential files from getting into wrong hands, Microsoft offers a free command line utility – SDelete (Secure Delete) – that overwrites all the free space to prevent data recovery. But if you are not comfortable with command line utility, there is an other very easy and free program called eraser. It completely removes sensitive data from your hard drive by overwriting it several times with carefully selected patterns.

Some of the features of Eraser are:
  1. It works with Windows XP (with Service Pack 3), Windows Server 2003 (with Service Pack 2), Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008 R2 
  2. It works with any drive that works with Windows
  3. Secure drive erasure methods are supported out of the box
  4. Erases files, folders and their previously deleted counterparts
  5. Works with an extremely customisable Scheduler

Did you find this post useful. Do comment below.

1 comments:

Copyright © 2011-13 The content is copyrighted to Jasmeet Singh and may not be reproduced on other websites.The Next Tech Guide.
Blogger Template by Clairvo